When your life doesn’t go to plan…

In the words of 2 Chainz, “If it wasn’t for the struggle, then I wouldn’t be me.”

Isn’t that the truth….

So, a little about me. When I was a sophomore or junior in high school, I went on a field trip to UCF tour the school and I fell in love with the campus. I decided it was my dream school and I wanted to study hospitality management there. I had it all planned out, I was going to graduate from there and work for the cruise lines. Well, I graduated high school and enrolled at St Johns River State to get my AA so I could transfer. I spent years on and off attempting to get my AA. I just recently gave it one more shot to see if I could knock out these painstaking math classes and I couldn’t. I have spent years trying to achieve my dreams, I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve cried over math, because of my frustration or disappointment. Honestly, I’ve been to so many tutors for math and I’ve done everything I’ve can and I have just come to the conclusion some people just have strengths and weaknesses. I can’t do everything. I’m not good at math and I’m not good at being a student. It’s taken over 6 years of busting my ass and failing to come to this conclusion. It’s okay. My life has not gone to plan, and there’s some sort of beauty in that. Especially, when I read that quote about Oprah and Steve Jobs about where they were at 23 and now look at them. You know the quote I’m talking about, if you don’t google it.

Now, I am back at the drawing board. What am I going to do with my life? I think most 18 year olds think people in their mid twenties have their lives figured out, including their career and I can tell you majority of the people I know in their twenties, do not. Good for the ones that do have their lives all together and are adulting successfully! I have my mind and heart open to all the options I have in life right now. I’m pondering the idea of becoming a travel agent, I’m looking into how to pursue it. Also, I have this love for writing. The dream would be to take cruises, go on trips/tours and get paid to review travel! I would LOVE to be able to travel, write about it and get paid for it! I’ve recently decided I’m going to try and break into the freelance writing industry. Honestly, there’s so many opportunities out there without a college degree, I just have to tap into them.

It s 12:43 am as I’m writing this, and I don’t know the exact point of writing this is but I hope if you’re reading this and you’re in a similar position, you won’t feel alone after reading this. 🙂 There’s beauty in a struggle, it’s going to be sweet when I do find a career I love!

Thanks for reading babes!

Jeri

Leave a Reply

